Dead Bodies Litter Mount Everest

Annabell
8 min readAug 22, 2020

Warning: Graphic Images

Sometimes scrolling on social media you can come across some interesting information.

Today I learned that on Mount Everest there are over 200 dead bodies and that they do not remove them. I thought “No way this is real” and began to do some research.

Sure enough I found this article on business insider that I informed me on why here bodies are not removed. Maybe I’m late to the game in this information, I don’t know.

This goes out to all the folks like myself who had no clue about any of this.

I don’t usually fill up a read full of sources, but they said it best, so be sure to visit their pages!

When people die on Everest, it can be difficult to remove their bodies. Final repatriation costs tens of thousands of dollars (in some cases, around $70,000) and can also come at a fatal price itself: two Nepalese climbers died trying to recover a body from Everest in 1984. Instead, bodies are often left lying on the mountain.

From a source on Facebook I also found interesting stories about some of these bodies to share with you.

The Stories About the Dead Bodies

Green boots- sadly green boots has never officially been identified but he is believed…

--

--

Annabell

Lover of CATS & drinker of cheap red WINE ~ Child of God, Mother, Daughter, Sister, & Friend ♥️